All Consumer Complaints for 1995 Mercedes-Benz E300

Important Note About Consumer Complaints

The Consumer Complaints are provided by the NHTSA and are used AS IS, without editing by anyone. You should use these consumer complaints as a starting point to see what potential issues you should look for.

Component Date of Report Summary
Engine And Engine Cooling 29 September 2008 At approximately 3 pm on the reported date the vacuum pump operating the right rear headrest to my 1995 mercedes benz e300d special edition got stuck or the relay malfunctioned, causing the pump to run continuously, building up friction and causing a fire that completely burnt the inside rear section of my vehicle. car was parked and ignition was off at the time of the fire. fire was reported to the sandy springs fire department and investigated by their fire investigator. insurance adjuster attributed cause of fire to failed vacuum pump. car was declared a total loss and i allowed my insurer took possession of the vehicle. *tr
Engine And Engine Cooling 26 June 2008 Tl*the contact owns a 1995 mercedes benz e class. while driving between 35-40 mph, the engine sputtered and the vehicle began to shake and vibrate. the contact shut off the engine and was able to restart it after numerous attempts. he drove the vehicle home, but it continued to shake and vibrate. he arrived home and turned off the vehicle. days after the failure, the contact attempted to restart the engine, but it failed numerous times. through online research, the contact discovered nhtsa campaign id number 95v031000 (electrical system:wiring). the manufacturer stated that there were no open recalls pertaining to his vin. the dealer stated that there was an open recall, but was unable to determine what the recall was regarding. the contact was advised to leave the vehicle in its current state. he was unable to confirm whether or not he informed the dealer about the failure he experienced. the failure and current mileages were 187,000.
Electrical System
Wiring
Front Underhood
07 April 2008 My car experiences hard starts, rough idling, poor gear shifting (automatic), and random stalling in potentially dangerous roadway environments. after systematically testing and eliminating the vehicles other equipment as the source, it is incredibly obvious that a defective wiring harness is to blame. what mercedes has lamely described as "environmentally friendly" wire insulation is really a life threatening defect that leaves bare wires exposed that have the potential to create potential electrical shorts, vehicle damage, fires, accidents, and most importantly, personal injury and death. does that sound environmentally friendly? it is extremely difficult to tell when the engine wiring harness will fail before it actually becomes dangerous. we are all very lucky that this hasn't killed or seriously injured anyone yet. this dangerous component should be recalled immediately, before it's too late. *tr
Electrical System
Wiring
Front Underhood
07 January 2008 Wiring harness cracking, flaking off and crumbling. engine temp senders, glow plug wiring, egr and other unidentifiable wiring in engine compartment defective. sp far have replaced several easy to reach wires. *tr
Electrical System
Wiring
21 August 2007 Noticeable hesitation and rough idle on my mercedes e320 1994 wagon. my mechanic tells me the electrical harness is crumbling and was well know for cars 1991-1996 for this model and dealers have had the knowledge for several years. this part will need replacing at a cost of approx. $1600.00 and i don't understand how i was never notified of a recall since i purchased the car new in 1995. *tr the consumer stated the harness is available for inspection. the consumer provided the repair invoice. updated 09/05/07 *tr
Electrical System
Wiring
Front Underhood
25 March 2007 Two reputable independent mercedes mechanics informed me that the engine wiring harness insulation in my 1995 e300 diesel is decaying which may have caused my glow plugs to malfunction and this problem is prevalent in mercedes vehicles made from 1991-1996. there should be a recall issued for this part before more serious events occur due to the flaw in mercedes manufacturing process from 1991-1996 . *ak
Electrical System
Wiring
Front Underhood
20 March 2007 The engine wiring harness insulation on my e300d diesel mercedes benz was severely cracked to the point that is caused the electrical components in the engine to fail. the engine temperature sensory failed, the glow plug relay failed, and the external air temperature sensory failed. the wiring harness and the components were replaced by a auto repair shop at significant cost.*ak
Electrical System
Wiring
Front Underhood
18 October 2006 During engine work my mechanic indicated that the engine wiring harness had degraded and exposed bare wires in some areas. electrical problems included fans running constantly and intermittent ac operation. my research indicated that numerous people had experienced problems with the mercedes-benz w124 body style wiring harness, including associated damage to other components, smoke and in some cases fires. apparently the harness had been designed to degrade easily upon the end of its life in a landfill, but the harnesses are degrading while still in use, to the detriment of the consumer. i had the mechanic replace the harness, which i have kept and can produce if helpful. cost of the new harness and labor was approximately $500, since my car is a diesel. similar harnesses for gasoline engine cars can cost in excess of $1,000. i did not want to risk a fire or damage to other electrical components in the car, not to mention the reliability concerns. i feel replacing the part was necessary for the safe driving of the car. *nm
Seats 16 September 2006 Seat frame failure. the left frame rail of the driver's seat collapsed causing the entire driver's seat to tilt to the side of the car and impact the door and b-pillar. this created a dangerous driving position. if this happened during a collision driver would've suffered head trauma and spinal cord injury. *nm
Electrical System
Wiring
10 August 2006 Dt*: the contact stated the vehicle had a wiring harness problem. the plastic harness caused problems with the speed control as well. the vehicle had problems accelerating at 65 mph and the dealer determined the wiring harness needed to be replaced. the contact stated the problem had been an ongoing issue for two years.*ak
Electrical System
Wiring
10 September 2005 Main engine wiring harness is currently deteriorating causing the wires to be exposed to an intense amount of heat. *jb
Engine And Engine Cooling
Engine
11 February 2003 The vehicle stalled, and would not restart.*jb
Seats
Front Assembly
Power Adjust
20 November 2000 Manufacturer's recall 950223/ nhtsa recall 95v031000; driver's side seat is locked in one position, seat cannot be adjusted. consumer has contacted dealer on a number of occasions. dealer has replaced parts, problem has reoccurred. please provide any further details.*ak
Electrical System
Wiring
Front Underhood
20 November 2000 Manufacturer's recall 950223/ nhtsa recall 95v031000; driver's side seat is locked in one position, seat cannot be adjusted. consumer has contacted dealer on a number of occasions. dealer has replaced parts, problem has reoccurred. please provide any further details.*ak
Google+