All Consumer Complaints for 1995 Mercedes-Benz SL500

Important Note About Consumer Complaints

The Consumer Complaints are provided by the NHTSA and are used AS IS, without editing by anyone. You should use these consumer complaints as a starting point to see what potential issues you should look for.

Component Date of Report Summary
Steering 22 May 2013 This vehicle has a bio-degradable engine wiring harness. these harnesses are deteriorating. my vehicle suddenly lost all power, no power steering, no nothing on a freeway and i was lucky that i was not killed. mercedes and the dealerships both know that vehicles with this type harness are death traps. i wonder how many people have already been killed, but wiring harness was never investigated as cause of accident. why are you not taking action against mercedes? every vehicle still on the road should be recalled immediately if it has a bio-degradable wiring harness.
Engine 22 May 2013 This vehicle has a bio-degradable engine wiring harness. these harnesses are deteriorating. my vehicle suddenly lost all power, no power steering, no nothing on a freeway and i was lucky that i was not killed. mercedes and the dealerships both know that vehicles with this type harness are death traps. i wonder how many people have already been killed, but wiring harness was never investigated as cause of accident. why are you not taking action against mercedes? every vehicle still on the road should be recalled immediately if it has a bio-degradable wiring harness.
Electrical System 22 May 2013 This vehicle has a bio-degradable engine wiring harness. these harnesses are deteriorating. my vehicle suddenly lost all power, no power steering, no nothing on a freeway and i was lucky that i was not killed. mercedes and the dealerships both know that vehicles with this type harness are death traps. i wonder how many people have already been killed, but wiring harness was never investigated as cause of accident. why are you not taking action against mercedes? every vehicle still on the road should be recalled immediately if it has a bio-degradable wiring harness.
Electrical System 01 May 2013 Had to replace the wiring harnesses in the car at a cost of $3500.00. i now have to replace the wire harness again at a similar cost. there should be a recall for this nonsense.
Engine 12 October 2012 Took my car in for service as it wasn't running properly (computer codes, stallling, etc) found out that in 1995 the mercedes benz company put biodegradable wiring. had to send to germany for a new wiring harness ($1500) may have to purchase the other wiring harness in the near future ($3000). what kind of car company puts biodegradable wiring in their cars?? a mercedes is known to last up to several hundred thousand miles, but not when the wiring starts disintegrading!! i have since found there are hundreds if not thousands of class action suits for this same matter against the mercedes benz company. they refuse to acknowledge the issue or the problem. had i known of this, i would not have purchased the car in the first place!
Electrical System 13 May 2012 Mercedes benz engineered their 1995 sl500 with faulty wiring. i have experienced times when the car would not idle at a stop light. there have been times when i have crossed an intersection and the car stalled, had not power and just would not run. this has almost been the cause of more than one accident. several hours has been spent by mechanics working on the car doing research to diagnosis the issues. we became aware of the faulty wiring that mercedes benz used and in turn has caused several components to fail. there has been $1,000.00's of dollars spent on my vehicle for diagnosing the problem,replacing modules, wiring harnesses, mass air flow sensor, fuel pump just to name a few. i have photo's of the faulty wiring used for the engine management harness and of the wiring leading from the eta (throttle body) to the computer. mercedes benz has not notified registered owners of this known problem, nor released any service bulletins to qualified mechanics. i would have expected a company with a reputation for providing outstanding and dependable vehicles to provide a solution to this and accept responsibility. instead they have been allowed to ignore the costly mistake and have passed it on to the owners. fortunately for me, it has only been a monetary. i wonder if or how many have paid the price by injury. *tr
Electrical System 16 December 2010 1995 mercedes sl500 with 105,000 miles. i had to replace three wiring harnesses: fuel injection/engine management, alternator/lower electrical harnesses, and had to have the electronic throttle body wiring rebuilt. all of the wiring insulation was brittle and exposed causing driveability issues and the inability to run or accelerate. the repairs cost $2,000 plus and mercedes says there is no defect. baloney! *tr
Tires 28 June 2010 Leaving williamsburg va on i64 for newport news 6-21-2010 at 4:30 pm the right rear tire explosively failed. the car was stopped and brought to the shoulder. before this the traction control light would come on at times. the pavement was dry, the temperature was 80-99f. the blow out looked to be caused by the rim spinning in the tire and the ply stock delaminating from the bead, then the side wall split. there was several ounces of ground rubber in the tire when removed from the rim. the tires had the pressure checked the week before when the right front tire developed a slow leak and was replaced. the tires were returned to the purchase location and replaced due to road hazards. the tires were purchased in january. the tires are michlien pilot sport a/s plus, 225/50zr16 92y dir bsw. the car is a mercedes sl500 1995. i have photographs of the damaged tire. retailer kept tire to be reimbursed. *tr
Traction Control System 10 November 2009 1995 sl500 had the sar light go on and the car went into "limp mode" and barely ran enough to get it to the service garage. the mechanic diagnosed a faulty engine wiring harness and showed me how the insulation on the wires was literally breaking away from the electrical wiring. this he said was shorting out the control module. he told me his was very common on the mercedes of this vintage and that it was a hazard. the car only has 83,000 miles on it and my wife baby it's like her own child. it is garaged each night and i do not believe the wiring harness should have desintegrated with so few miles. it is my belief that the product is defective. *tr
Electrical System 10 November 2009 1995 sl500 had the sar light go on and the car went into "limp mode" and barely ran enough to get it to the service garage. the mechanic diagnosed a faulty engine wiring harness and showed me how the insulation on the wires was literally breaking away from the electrical wiring. this he said was shorting out the control module. he told me his was very common on the mercedes of this vintage and that it was a hazard. the car only has 83,000 miles on it and my wife baby it's like her own child. it is garaged each night and i do not believe the wiring harness should have desintegrated with so few miles. it is my belief that the product is defective. *tr
Electrical System 24 December 2008 my 1996 mercedes sl500 with less than 55,000 miles has crumbling wire insulation on the engine controls which has resulted in shorted wiring in the engine controls. the poor quality of the insulation on the wires is the problem, yet the car maker or the dealer has not done a recall to replace this wiring harness for this safety problem. i am told the cost to replace all the defective parts will be thousands of dollars. this is a known safety issue within the mercedes community for this car through 1990-1995. there must be thousands of cars involved with this potential safety hazard. this car was sold to me without any mention of this hazard. became aware of it when presented to repair shops. *tr
Electrical System 19 October 2008 I have a 1995 mercedes benz and the wiring harness caught fire while was driving on the road and almost had a wreck trying to stop the car so i could get out, was choking from the fumes. should i have waited until i had a wreck and killed someone. since i have read on line that 500 people have had similar problems that they reported to you. *tr
Service Brakes, Electric 17 September 2008 I have a 1995 sl500 mercedes benz and the wires going to the brake switch caught fire, if i had not had a fire extinguisher the hole car might have caught fire also i was no going fast when the fumes started choking me and my eyes burned. i could have killed my self or someone on the road. *tr
Electronic Stability Control 17 September 2008 I have a 1995 sl500 mercedes benz and the wires going to the brake switch caught fire, if i had not had a fire extinguisher the hole car might have caught fire also i was no going fast when the fumes started choking me and my eyes burned. i could have killed my self or someone on the road. *tr
Vehicle Speed Control 17 September 2008 I have a 1995 sl500 mercedes benz and the wires going to the brake switch caught fire, if i had not had a fire extinguisher the hole car might have caught fire also i was no going fast when the fumes started choking me and my eyes burned. i could have killed my self or someone on the road. *tr
Electrical System 01 May 2008 My 1995 sl500 recently lost power while traveling down the road. the diagnosis was a faulty alternator but, while the mb dealership was looking the car over, the ea wiring harness was found to be degraded in several places. i was told that it would need to be replaced which also involved replacing the ea control unit and throttle valve actuator. these parts apparently come as kit for about $4,000.00! i opted to not have that repaired at this time but, i will be having it repaired very very soon! it is quite remarkable that a biodegradable wiring harness has never been recalled or even acknowledged as faulty by the manufacturer. this should truly be addressed. *tr
Google+