All Consumer Complaints for 2000 Mercury Cougar

Important Note About Consumer Complaints

The Consumer Complaints are provided by the NHTSA and are used AS IS, without editing by anyone. You should use these consumer complaints as a starting point to see what potential issues you should look for.

Component Date of Report Summary
Engine And Engine Cooling 02 August 2007 Tl*the contact owns a 2000 mercury cougar. the contact stated that the fuel pump failed on her vehicle. ford informed her that a recall repair was previously performed on the vehicle. the contact went to the corporate ford office and was informed that the repair had not been performed. she also stated that the engine occasionally stalled and one of the struts failed during a test drive at 60 mph. the vehicle was eventually towed. the purchase date was unknown. the current mileage was 110,125 and failure mileage was 110,000.
Fuel System, Other
Delivery
Fuel Pump
23 July 2007 Tl*the contact owns a 2000 mercury cougar. while driving 25 or 65 mph, the vehicle speeds up, slows down, and then shuts off completely. the vehicle is currently at the shop, where the fuel pump and delivery modular have been replaced five times. the mechanic stated that the wiring was not making the proper connection to the modular. the current mileage is 84,000 and failure mileage was 60,000.
Fuel System, Gasoline
Delivery
Fuel Pump
04 April 2007 Tl*the contact owns a 2000 mercury cougar. the vehicle containd a safety recall on the fuel system. on april 3, 2007, while driving approximately 60 mph on a rainy day, the vehicle shut off. the vehicle was towed to a mechanic where it currently remained. the failure occurred twice in the last four months. the mechanic stated that the fuel system could be repaired if it was paid for by the contact. the current mileage is 115,000 and failure mileage was 112,000.*ak
Visibility
Sun Roof Assembly
28 March 2007 Tl* - the contact owns a 2000 mercury cougar. the contact stated that the plastic track around the interior of the sun roof was defective. the plastic which held the sunroof in place broke, and there was no other way to hold the sun roof in place without this feature. the failure mileage was 70,000, and the current mileage was 80,000. *ak
Air Bags
Frontal
29 September 2006 My daughter was driving my 2000 mercury cougar on september 25 ,2006. when another vehicle went through a stop sign &they collided. she hit him with her front end & then proceeded to swerve head on into a telephone pole . so this makes two front end collisions & the air bags never deployed. in fact she had another accident in sept 2003 where a car went through a red light and hit her,but that was a side impact & again this air bag did not deploy. so this has been three incidents that this air bag did not deploy & this past one on monday was front end collision & my daughter has damage to her chest & rib cage , which could have been avoided if the air bags worked properly! *nm
Electrical System
Alternator/Generator/Regulator
21 September 2006 Went out to go to work one morning and car would not start, all systems completely dead, jumped car off next day and barely made it to garage, replaced battery 11/04, problems ever since with battery light constantly flashing as well as all interior and exterior lights flashing bright to dim day or night, was told 11/04 needed a new alternator, still have not gotten a new alternator and do not plan to at this point, received the recall on battery cable and rerouting and had that done, if this is a consistent problem with v-6 2000 mercury cougars the company should take care of this problem immediately, if driving at night and car completely stalls, all lights and controls are inoperable which will cause accident to self and/or others, this is a scary thought for a single female driving at night and in areas where cell phone doesn't always have a signal, ford should fix this battery/alternator problem asap before someone gets hurt and sues. *jb
Electrical System
Battery
Cables
21 September 2006 Went out to go to work one morning and car would not start, all systems completely dead, jumped car off next day and barely made it to garage, replaced battery 11/04, problems ever since with battery light constantly flashing as well as all interior and exterior lights flashing bright to dim day or night, was told 11/04 needed a new alternator, still have not gotten a new alternator and do not plan to at this point, received the recall on battery cable and rerouting and had that done, if this is a consistent problem with v-6 2000 mercury cougars the company should take care of this problem immediately, if driving at night and car completely stalls, all lights and controls are inoperable which will cause accident to self and/or others, this is a scary thought for a single female driving at night and in areas where cell phone doesn't always have a signal, ford should fix this battery/alternator problem asap before someone gets hurt and sues. *jb
Electrical System
Battery
Cables
03 August 2006 My 2000 mercury cougar has a problem with the battery light flashing intermittently and the head lights and interior lights flickering consistently. first i took it to two local repair shops who found no charging problems. the second shop provided me with a recall and recommended that i take it to the dealer. i took it to the ford dealer(with the recall paper work) and they first replaced the alternator (which didn't fix the problem) then replaced a connector (which didn't fix my problem). when i asked them to replace the battery cable to the alternator which is mentioned in the recall the service manager told me that he would have to replace a $1,900.00 wiring harness to do that. he recommended that i trade my car in. so i went out and bought a "consumer reports" used car buying guide to look for a reliable used car and i found a section in the back for "recalls". under the '99-00 mercury cougar section it references this recall and says "if necessary, replace the battery cable". i have filed a complaint with ford and plan to call the attorney generals consumer affairs division next. *jb
Fuel System, Gasoline 01 August 2006 I purchased a used 200 mercury cougar in 12/2005. the fuel has been diagnosed by festus ford as defective. the fuel pump was replaced as part of recall #04v421000. i called ford customer care 1-866-436-7332 to ask if there was anything that ford could do to offset the cost of the repair/replacement and my request was rejected. it's apparent that there is something wrong with the cougar fuel pumps. i report to ford that i thought this was a safety issue, since this is causing my vehicle to lose power and/or surge. they did not seem to be concerned at all. *jb
Fuel System, Gasoline
Delivery
Fuel Pump
01 August 2006 I purchased a used 200 mercury cougar in 12/2005. the fuel has been diagnosed by festus ford as defective. the fuel pump was replaced as part of recall #04v421000. i called ford customer care 1-866-436-7332 to ask if there was anything that ford could do to offset the cost of the repair/replacement and my request was rejected. it's apparent that there is something wrong with the cougar fuel pumps. i report to ford that i thought this was a safety issue, since this is causing my vehicle to lose power and/or surge. they did not seem to be concerned at all. *jb
Air Bags 31 July 2006 Dt*: the contact stated that the vehicle's airbags did not deploy after hitting an embankment and flipping over on its top. the vehicle was traveling 55 mph when the vehicle was swerved to avoid hitting a deer, which caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. the air bags did not deploy. one person was injured and a police report was filed. the vehicle was totaled, according to the tow truck driver. the dealer has not been alerted.
Electrical System 03 July 2006 With no warning, my car's electrical system will start failing. lights will dim, rpm and speed gauges reset and the car stalls with in a matter of minutes. the vehicle will not start again and has to be towed to the dealership. vehicle has left me stranded 5+ times because of this. the failure is in the alternator to the car and possibly the battery as well which both have only ever been the manufacturers parts. i have had to have my battery replaced 4 times and my alternator 5+ times it is obvious that there is a substantial problem with this car's electrical system. the car is not dependable at all and causes more stress, money,& time than it is worth. these issues should be addressed by the ford motor company. *jb
Wheels
Rim
24 May 2006 We were driving down the road and all of a sudden we had a flat tire. we thought the tire had blown out, but when we changed the tire, we found that the rim had burst open and the tire was perfectly fine. thank god the car did not flip. if it had, no one would have known what happened. we called the ford company and they told us they would not incur any cost for their clearly defective product. after all the problems they have caused the public with their defective products, you would think they would have at least had a dealership look at the rim to try and find out what happened. but apparently they do not care about their products unless someone gets killed like in the case with their defective tires. i really feel that if they had taken the complaints serious about the tire situation, no one would have lost their life. if one customer complains, and you care about your product, i would think the company would want to know why their product was defective in the first place. i truly hope the ford company gets what is due them. as the old slogan says; ford really does mean found on the road dead. *jb
Power Train
Automatic Transmission
11 May 2006 I have a 2000 mercury cougar with the terrible cd4e transmission with 66,000 miles and the transmission went bad. there are a lot of people with the same problems and the same trannys. *jb
Other 27 April 2006 Sunroof is stuck open. went to close it and only one side goes down. needs a whole new sunroof. water leaks in when it rains. damaging the interior of the car. *jb
Visibility
Sun Roof Assembly
27 April 2006 Sunroof is stuck open. went to close it and only one side goes down. needs a whole new sunroof. water leaks in when it rains. damaging the interior of the car. *jb
Google+